Friday 27 April 2018

Esp - Invisible Din (2016)

The debut album from this multi-national project.

Esp is a duo consisting of Mark Brzeziki (drums, vocals) and Tony Lowe (bass, keyboards, guitars, vocals).
The band had help from David Jackson on sax, Yumi Hara on electric harp, David Cross on violins and a lot of other musicians.

In short, this is a super-group. They were meant to only release one album. But they have just released a new album under the name Esp 2.0 and I will review that album sometimes soon/you will find my review of that album somewhere else in this blog.

The music on this album is based on neo-prog. Melodic neo-prog.

The songs, make that suites, are pretty long on this almost seventy minutes long. Yes, the music is melodic. But it is also intricate and progressive.

There are a lot of influences from jazz on this album too. And some Van Der Graaf Generator influences. There is a lot of saxophones and nice keyboards here. Ditto for guitars. The vocals are also good.

My only gripe with this album is the lack of any great tracks on this album. It is indeed a good album and a nice one. But there is something missing here. A killer track or two.

3 points

No comments:

Post a Comment