Tuesday, 9 July 2019

Cosmograf - The Unreasonable Silence (2016)

The fifth album from this UK one man band.

Cosmograf aka Robin Armstrong plays guitar, keyboards, bass and does the vocals here.
He has got help from numerous other musicians on bass, drums and vocals.

The Unreasonable Silence is a concept album based on an Albert Camus novel. A novelist I do not know at all. The Myth Of Sisiphus, the novel is called.

So we get a grand opening before the music and concept properly kicks in. Concept albums should have grand openings like this one.

The music then proceeds with Robin's vocals, some male and female vocals plus narrations. All of it really good.

The music is really concept album music with a mix of symphonic and neo-prog. The sound is contemporary and great.

This one hour long album is really compact and there is no surplus material here which should have been removed from the mix and mastering.

There are a number of very good songs here and it is rather evident that Cosmograf is one of the best bands/projects in the scene right now.

Enjoy this very good album.

3.5 points

No comments:

Post a Comment